Coming or Going?

Another Spring’s a-coming. What will this year bring? I read in the Boston Globe the other day about the collapse of the subprime mortgage market and this can’t be good for anyone. As a former loan officer, I can tell you that many of these people getting foreclosed had no business nor could they afford these houses to begin with, but the property sales it generated created arguably the biggest housing boom in American History. Now with the demand on the marketplace sure to shrink, and housing values sure to fall, Joe Homeowner will no longer be able to tap into that wonderful equity he’s been living off of for ten years (because ther won’t be any), and may not have the money for Joe Roofer.

What to do now? Well, for everyone its different, but this roofer is headed to the repair market again. The cost to run a legitimate and fully equipped roofing crew just doesn't seem feasible to me anymore. This is like the days in the late 80's and early 90's (geez, guess who was president, suprise, suprise) where the saying was "You can feed a family for a week with a gallon of Karnak." Rolled- "roofers" were in high demand. People tarred the joints of vinyl-sided dormer cheeks. Yup, I see the future and it isn't pretty.

Suffice to say, I'm done whining about illegal-immigrants now. They're the least of my problems and surely will be going home when they find out theres no work here either! Thats all for now

----Mr. Pessimistic

sounds to me that maybe you need help with sales. im already booked well into the season. i dont care what the economy is. bottom line “EVERBODY HAS A ROOF…AT SOME POINT, EVERYBODY WILL NEED A ROOF.”

even if this was the case (your theory on the market). why would you post it here to scare away the people that come here for advise. now they may second guess replacing their roof, and you wont get the call that you may otherwise gotten.

p.s. this should be listed under business talk