Charge for temporary tarp on roof

I have a simple question…

I’m new to storm chasing and will be working the many recent hail storms around Texas.
My simple question is in regards to billing for emergency tarping of customers roofs.

I know insurance companies pay 100% of these temporary covers, so my question is:

Do I collect payment and provide an invoice to submit for this reimbursement to the customer?

Or do I tarp the roof, provide invoice and wait for reimbursement?

This is probably a silly question for your veterans out there so a quick response would be greatly appreciated. I’m a newbie learning the ropes so I’m sure you understand.

Thanks

Sammy

Here is what I charge:

75 cents per square foot for the tarp (so a 20x20 tarp would be $300) This is for the tarp, and the labor.

Then I charge an additional $100 for the “emergency service call”. and I double it if I tarp it after hours or on weekends.

Thanks for the quick response Jason.

I’m assuming most customers have no problem paying since we assure them insurance
will reimburse 100%…right?

Thanks,

Sammy

No problem buddy… just trying to make your life easier, so you stay down there in Texas. We dont ever ever get hail here in Tulsa. Especially this last weekend. at all. ever. :mrgreen:

The only time I’ve ever collected money on a tarp job from a customer, is when they either choose to use someone else to re-roof their house, or when they are paying cash for the roof.

before i tarp it, they sign an agreement with me. one for the tarp with a $$ amount on it, and a separate contract for replacing the roof if it gets bought by their insurance carrier.

once i do the tarp, i just wait for the insurance check. the first one will have it included (make sure the home owner shows them the invoice/contract with the $$ amount for the tarp) and i just get paid then.