Cash pay vs. "on the books"

Hi Guys!
I’ve been roofing for about 25 years, and I’ve worked for about 5 different companies throughout those years…whenever I seek new employment with someone and the topic of my pay comes up, I’m usually faced with a decision: cash pay, or “on the books”…and there’s usually a $3-$5 difference; E.g. $20 cash or $25 “on the books”…or when starting out years ago as a laborer; $12 cash or $15 OTB…$15 cash or $18 OTB…$18 cash or $22 OTB…
one company would let a guy get partial cash and partial OTB…and once i was getting $25 OTB and everything over 40 hours was cash…
I totally understand MY advantage in whatever choice i make, of course…but what does the boss gain? why is there a few dollars difference?
My curiousity is piqued…just another facet of business that i’d like to understand…and this may just be a practice in MY area only…Massachusetts (northeastern Mass). i dunno…
Anybody???

I wonder why this post hasn’t been responded to. Hmmm.

Roofing is a dangerous profession. Working on cash you get hurt you are, well…f’d. Broken leg easily exceeds your financial gain of one year:

Your $3 a hour x 40hrs x 52 weeks a year = $6,240.

Sitting home for 2 months is another lost income of $8,000 if you are making $25.00 hour.

Be American- go on the books and pay taxes like everyone else.

Have your boss provide the necessary insurance coverages, maybe he will charge more being legit and the whole industry benefits from it!

The employers may be trying to cut corners on workers comp insurance and payroll and unemployment taxes. Be careful, first off, this is illegal, tax evasion. Secondly, you are taking a huge risk. If he doesn’t carry any work comp and you get hurt you could be S.O.L.

When you figure what you would have paid in income tax form the higher amount it probably works out about the same for you, except that you are doing something illegal and might not have insurance protection.

The Canadian breakdown: