Canvassing

I’m a contractor who has mainly been involved in new construction (mostly framing and siding) as a sub. Lately I’ve been doing a lot more roofing and siding jobs for homeowners and loving it. I’m very concsientous about what I do and offer guarantees that I’m serious about on my work. I can consistently close on new job leads-but- I NEED MORE LEADS!!! Advertising in the yellow pages and newspaper generates some business but not enough. I read some old posts about canvassing neighborhoods. Does this really work? I’m curious to try it but wondering if anyone has any input. I know I am annoyed when someone knocks on my door to shove their product down my throat. Good salesmen always say you have to believe in the product your selling to be successful, which I do, but I don’t know about door to door. Any thoughts greatly appreciated.

nothin wrong with door flyers.

gweedo

[quote=“gweedo”]nothin wrong with door flyers.

gweedo[/quote]

Done some of these and got about a 1 in 300 response. Lot of paper and ink and time for little return I feel like

I am planning a yard sign campaign this spring. I did about 12 roofs in my neighborhood,and all of them will let me put my sign back up. Along with that I plan to canvass the rest of the homes around to let them know I am working,and live in the neighborhood. I hope this gets things moving…
It was easier last year,and the year before,I was knocking doors,and selling on the spot 4 out of 5…easier to sell roofs when you can get screaming deals on materials…NO DEALS TO BE HAD NOW!!!
Now it is like you are some pushy salesman when you give a quote,and tell them if they wait it will be more(cost of materials are sky rocketing)!!!