ATTN: I need help please. Roofing question!

First off I want to thank you guys for actually having a website on this, or else I’d be even more lost than I am right now.

I need help, and quickly.

I am about to do our 11month 2-10 11 month warranty submission. I walked into the attic to check for anything out of the normal so I could bring it to the contractors attention. I came across a 2"+ gap between the peak off the roof, all the way across.

I thought the ply board was brought all the way to the ridge/peak of the roof on both sides, leaving no gap. The gap here is wide, and what seems to be covering it would only be the tar paper and shingles.

This is my question. Was this done properly, or not. I have no idea about roofing. I by trade am a inspector for construction/surveyor but not a builder. I have been around plenty of houses being built and I can’t ever recall seing this practice being done.

I just have run into multiple problems with the craftsmanship of this house that I was under the assumption that this was improperly done as well.

I will post links to pictures of the roof line from the attic. I need help ASAP as our submission time is close to being up and I don’t want to let this slip if it is a problem/improper installation.

smg.photobucket.com/albums/v120/wireeater/attic/

Thanks in advanced,

Rich.

The gap is supposed to be there for ridge-vent.If it’s felt in the pictures, the RV has been left off and needs to be installed.

It could have been? It more like a fiber type black paper upon 2nd inspection of it.

I know I came across some diagrams on roof venting but I didn’t find out much information.

Could you please specify what you mean by “the RV has been left off and needs to be installed.”.

As I said, I am not a roofer, so I am lost with your terms. :slight_smile:

Thanks for the quick reply!

Does your house have ridge vent(RV)? or is there just ridge caps.