Attic ventilation question

Maybe you guy’s can help me understand this “short circuitâ€Â

basicly,altough hot air rises the flow from the gable interferes w/more flow coming from below,when you have a fan it sucks in volume and takes it from the 1st available source-when the gables are closed the vents,ridge vents or fan will pull the air from the available vents which if done right are the soffits,tamko also disavows the warranty w/out proper venting-now you got me reading wrappers! :roll:

Great drawings Dennis.

I’m a layman homeowner but I had to come up to speed quickly last winter when I discovered a moisture/mold/ventilation problem and had to put in emergency soffit vents mid-winter.

Your drawings seem to capture the gist of the short-circuiting, except that I don’t think the colder blue temperatures would be as uniform as you’re showing.

When you open up the gables you might have numbers closer to 85 right near those vents at the ends, but as you get towards the middle I think less of the cool gable-end air would be reaching there and your #'s would be higher in the middle.

Plus I think your soffit vents would contribute to more cooling, and lower #'s, than your drawing indicates.

So I’m guessing that you are wondering whether to use gable vents in combination w/ soffit/ridge vents, right?

All the roof ventilation companies seem to say “no” and the shingle companies want a uniform airflow under the roof which soffit/ridge systems are theoretically designed for.

I pretty much accept the “science” of their arguments but I do sometimes wonder if using both gables and soffit/ridge might not lower the overall attic temps a little more.

In fact, I was just about to make a new thread on this very topic, but instead perhaps I’ll see what happens on this one.

One question, are those temperature numbers in your drawing actuals?

Was it really 85 outside and at the same time you measured 142-150 at those various spots under the roof?!!