Ashphalt shingles over ashalt shingles?

I noticed alot of houses on this island have a few layers of asphalt shingles on them. I am trying to repair the house i am living in and was wondering how do i go about going over existing shingles. and what would be a decent brand to get . i dont want to get the cheap ones that dont last long but maybe one in the middle of cheap and expensive. This house has been leaking for some time but i have no experience in ripping out old ply and putting new. I would just like to go over the existing. Plus we dont have the money just yet to hire a company to fix it. I just want it to last a few years maybe by then i will be able to afford a new roof.

If it has been leaking for a while already, you more than likely will have either decking or structural damage, which can only be ascertained with a complete roof removal.

Sorry, but that is not only the Right thing to do, but will wind up saving you a lot of money shortly down the road.

Ed

I agree with Ed. If the decking is bad from leaks (it is) and you don’t fix it you will not get the life from the new roof. I have ripped of plenty of roofs that were installed over bad decking only 5 yrs or less that were leaking,and falling apart cause the roofer did not do the customer right. It is like throwing the money away if you don’t tear off and replace damaged wood. Also when the tear off is done,the loose decking nails need to be pulled and the deck re-nailed so the loose nails don’t come through the new shingles. That is also the cause for most of the work I get…Lazy slob roofers that are in my area working for Peanuts …and they real are not monkeys…they are just incapable of doing the proper work that should be done to insure that the owner gets the full life from the product they are paying for…I always say If you didn’t get a Top Quality Job ,then it doesn’t matter what you paid…IT WAS TOO MUCH!