A common leaky area

The bottem of this valley needs at least 2 ply of asphalt saturated underlayment.

Those of you that think Synthetic is appropriate here are in for a very rude awakening in the future.

why is that?are you using your underlay as water proofing?

Always!!!

Those who say underlayment is unnecesary after the installation of shingles are fools.

@roof_lover

i think Synthetic underlay (GAF DeckArmor is what I use) is more than appropriate here AND is way better than asphalt saturated granular “ice & water” garbage that everyone uses, to cut costs (by not using Grace. But even grace is not good enough.

Deck Armor is 5 feet of continuous coverage, that DOES NOT trap moisture like most synthetics. And I’ve been installing roofs in MA for 13 years, and ALWAYS use DeckArmor … and no rude awakening (just) yet!

The last pic is my own roof - so I put my money in the right places.

I do install metal only though - so a lot fewer nail holes and a much better roof - so no problems that you would normally face with asphalt shingles and ice dams / etc.

This is all the proof i need.
These pics are from one of my own roofs when i wanted to believe in synthetic.
Two month old roof.
Gaf Tiger paw on a 7/12.

Also multiple reports of leaking from other local roofers using much cheaper synthetic.
Roofers reporting leaks even while installing
Two plys of synthetic.

I wanted to believe in Synthetic also!!!
The real benefits to the installer are huge!!
More coverage, Super light, install super fast, no wrinkling…

Perhaps the old nails contributed to the end result?

Those were new nails.

Did super sorry owens corning DURATION shingles also contribute?
They sure did.

@roof_lover Tiger Paw is not breathable - it traps moisture, causing plywood rot … it creates a greenhouse effect inside your roof… DeckArmor is breathable - means all moisture from attic can escape (albeit slowly) …

I am ALWAYS against all other types of synthetic underlayments.